How to Install Multiple Versions of Silhouette Studio – Windows 10

Have you ever wished you could run more than one version of Silhouette Studio® on your Windows computer? Mac users can do it easily, but doing this in Windows takes a bit more effort and digging around, renaming folders and paths.

If you’re a computer-savvy user of Silhouette Studio® you may want to try this out. Especially if you want to run a beta edition to try it out and provide feedback to the Silhouette software developers, while also keeping a stable release version to fall back on.

This tutorial is for advanced users. I’ve debated sharing it because it’s possible to mess things up if you don’t know what you’re doing, but I have found it extremely helpful over the years as I have the need to run several versions of Silhouette Studio® while juggling personal use, teaching, and beta testing.

Notes:

  • This does not affect your library or your upgrades to Designer Edition, etc.
  • Try this at your own risk. You may wish to take precautions like exporting a copy of your library, creating a restore point, and/or deactivating your upgrade, but I’ve been doing this for years and rarely run into any glitches. (I currently have more than 15 versions I can open on my laptop.)
  • This is for v4 and higher, running Silhouette Cloud. I have not successfully run v3 and v4 on the same computer.
  • Only one instance of Silhouette Studio can be open at a time.
  • If you are currently running an older version and simply want the ability to add newer versions, start with step 5.

 

To uninstall a newer version of Silhouette Studio in order to install an older version:

  1. Type “remove” in Windows taskbar search bar, then choose “Add or remove programs”.

  1. Find Silhouette Studio and Uninstall.

  1. Restart your computer.
  2. Install the older version you still want to access (e.g. version 4.1.473).

 

To rename an older version in order to install multiple versions:

  1. Verify the version of Silhouette Studio you are about to rename. (In Silhouette Studio: Help > About Silhouette Studio).

  1. Close Silhouette Studio.
  2. In Windows Explorer, open the folder: This PC > OS (C:) > Program Files (x86)

  1. Open the “Silhouette America” folder.

  1. Find (but do not open) the folder that says “Silhouette Studio”.

  1. Rename the folder that says “Silhouette Studio” to “Silhouette Studio vxxxxx” (For version 4.1.473, I would rename it “Silhouette Studio v41473” with no spaces or decimals.)

Note: You may get several popups throughout this process stating you need administrator permission, which you need to accept/continue.

 

Rename Silhouette Studio’s shortcut icon:

  1. Right click on the current Silhouette Studio icon on your desktop and choose “Rename”.

  1. Add “ vxxxxx” after “Silhouette Studio” so it is exactly the same as you typed it to rename the Silhouette Studio folder above. (e.g. Silhouette Studio v41473)

 

Rename the Shortcut Path:

  1. Right click the renamed Silhouette Studio icon and choose “Properties”.

  1. Open the Shortcut tab.
  2. In the “Target” input, add “ vxxxxx” after the first “Silhouette Studio” so the full Target path says “C:\Program Files (x86)\Silhouette America\Silhouette Studio v41473\Silhouette Studio.exe” (using v4.1.473 again as my example).

  1. In the “Start in” input, add “ vxxxxx” after “Silhouette Studio” near the end of the line so the full Start In path says “C:\Program Files (x86)\Silhouette America\Silhouette Studio v41473\” (using the same version example of 4.1.473).

  1. Open that version of Silhouette Studio with the newly-renamed desktop icon to verify it works.

 

Install a newer version of Silhouette Studio:

  1. Now you can install a newer version of Silhouette Studio as usual by running the downloaded .exe file.
  2. If you wish to install yet another version of Silhouette Studio to have more than two versions available, simply go through the renaming steps (5-16 above) for the most-recently-installed version before installing a newer version.

You can choose which version to open, but you will have to close one version before opening another.

Good luck!

Leave a Reply